• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Barrel Cleaning suggestions to minimize gas port erosion?

rmiked

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Nov 8, 2023
I am new to ARs. Have a Seekins SP10 in 6.5 CM. I have the Wheeler bore guide, aluminum with o-rings. I cleaned my barrel before shooting it initially. I used patches with CLP, no bore brush. I have a brass bore brush. Are there any recommended practices in cleaning to minimize “gas port erosion”. I have read about putting a cleaner soaked patch at the port location and letting it sit there a while? I assume you just measure to the gas block and then measure the rod insertion? I plan on cleaning the barrel around 50 rounds. I only have 17 rounds thru it now? It’s a brass bore brush ok? I don’t see how brass bristles could scratch a SS barrel but I can understand chemical corrosion with dissimilar metals. I read some neutralize their brass bore brush with brake cleaner after cleaning? Before I get a couple hundred rounds thru rifle, just wondering if I can be intentional about cleaning. Thanks

I personally only use nylon bore brushes, to eliminate any potential issues with brass brushes.

As for cleaning, I just do the normal cleaning process after a day at the range where I have put 200-300 rounds downrange. There are times when I will let it go 2-3 times before I clean…but only if I know the rounds I’m shooting aren’t crap (Wolf steel cased, for example).

[edit]. Note: I only use a bore brush after a really heavy range session or if I’ve used some chunky ammo

Last edited:
Gas port erosion results from shooting - not cleaning - the gun.

A bore guide is always a good idea, to eliminate throat wear resulting from repeated passes with a carbon impregnated cleaning rod.