• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Barrel contour for 7mm-08

burns93

Private
Minuteman
Oct 16, 2022
Utah
I am building a rifle for precision long range and have decided to go with 7mm-08 in a savage axis action(yes I’m aware there were better options but this is what I wanted to use) i am trying to find what barrel contour would be best? I am wanting a heavier barrel without having to carry a truck axle for a barrel. Any advice would be much appreciated, I don’t plan on doing PRS or any other competition right now because I’m new to long range in this aspect. My longest shot so far has been 350 yards.

There is no best. Just pick something in the middle, like a Rem varmint or med Palma.
Is there a big difference between med Palma and a Bull contour? I’ve been going back and forth between the two since I’ve been trying to decide what to go with. I’ve been looking through Criterion barrels

I dont know which maker you're looking at but Bull mostly is just a colloquial term for a heavy barrel. The rem varmint and the palma contours are separate from other heavy contours in that they neck down sharply forward of the chamber, vs being a straight taper which end up being quite a bit heavier. You’ll give up nothing in accuracy. Most makers have the contour charts with dimensions and weights which will give you an idea of relative weight.

Reactions: burns93 and Modoc
Brux Rem varmint on top, Bartlein Heavy Varmint on bottom. The heavy varmint barrel shown here is 2 lbs heavier than the rem varmint, and would definitely be considered a “truck axle”
1C80791B-A7E4-4F66-A6B7-E43EE12AB16D.jpeg

Reactions: burns93