• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Barrel for ELR with an AIAXMC

M67

Private
Minuteman
Mar 21, 2017
Hi all,

I'll start (re) introducing myself, - as far as shooting goes - i started shooting competitively in 1980, and have been touching most disciplines that use rifled barrels. Norwegian, and won a couple of F-Class nationals, shot both PRS WCs, going to Cameo.
My main interest was always long range, and the longer the better.
I bought my first 338LM in 2009 and we had a sort of start to an ELR thing here in Norway, shot a few matches (nothing past 2500m), but it died, and PRS came along - but now we see matches coming up, and it looks fun, as it used to.

Since i bought an AIAXMC mostly for the heck of it a few years back (and used it, w. the 260Rem barrel in Bitche - i have an AI and a 338LM barrel - the typical 27" Palma profile AI 338 barrel. Shot it quite a bit at 1250, and and a little at 1600m.
I have pondered custom stuff, modern ELR cartridges and even 416Barrett, shot a couple, and yada... To expensive, too much fuss - and my old Barnard could hold its own out quite far.
The AI however is a bit too tactical, barrel is "thin", at 27" i get not enough speed, accuracy is fair w. Berger 300 (its everything short of "very good") it groups within a moa at 1000m or at least almost... But SD/ES issues, besides its light, etc - in short i do not find it optimal for ELR work, and it absolutely does not shoot brass/copper bullets.

So my gunsmith has these two blanks. Lilja 9" twist. 30 and 32" long. I plan to not use the magazine for this, but seat bullets just short of the donout area, and then also get some more case volume. I have thougt of an 338LM improved, but i doubt it - for ease of everything.