• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Barrel Nodes

chrisward3

Private
Minuteman
Feb 15, 2012
Looking for input on finding barrel nodes.

Are they based on Velocity, Barrel Pressure, both?

The reason I ask is, if I found a good node with LOAD "X" and switch powder, lot, etc... could I achieve the same results if LOAD "Y" had a matching MV or pressure?

That's a good question! Will definitely be watching this thread. I am relatively new to reloading reloading. I have stuck with my best loads exclusively.

This question should be asked on 6BR.com. Your getting ready to get a dozen different answers. Changing anything (lots) will change the velocity, pressure,
which will change the accuracy node.

The closest the "nodes" are linked to is a function of muzzle velocity and pressure, that is if you´re referring to the OBT concept. The notes consider the time it takes for the bullet from the ignition to leave the bore. MV alone is not enough, since different loads speed up to the same resulting MV differently. Quickload gives you the time of the bullet travel in thousandths of milliseconds, that´s what I´m using.