• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Barrel replacement advice needed ...

rustyinbend

GySgt USMC 1976-1992
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Dec 9, 2018
    Bend, Oregon
    I have a Masterpiece Arms 300-WMBA rifle that I've shot like crazy for the last 3 years. Group sizes are now expanding (a lot), and it's pretty obvious that I've shot out the barrel. Anybody have any advice on what I should do next? It has a Remington-700 Long Action. Do I ...
    • Send it back to MPA and pay to install a new barrel?
    • Get a new barrel from MPA and replace it myself? (Never done that, not sure how hard it is.)
    • Get a different barrel from someplace else and pay to install, or do it myself?
    What's the best way to get a really good competition-ready barrel to replace the one that I've obviously worn through?
    Any advice is appreciated.

Just ordered everything I need. Rem-700 action wrench, 300-WM Go and No-Go gauges, and a pre-fit made-to-order competition heavy barrel from McGowen Precision Barrels. Already have a really good barrel vise, torque wrench, anti-seize, etc. Once everything arrives, I'm good to go with my first attempt replacing a barrel on my own. McGowen says 20 weeks lead-time on the barrel, but I hope that's BS ... we shall see. Hey ... it looks pretty easy in this YouTube video. What could go wrong? LOL

In the meantime ... I have a 300-WM barrel for my Barrett MRAD, so that should work until my MPA is back in the fight. Definitely a "1st World Problem" when you have to settle for a MRAD until your MPA is fixed.

Let someone else shoot it and see what the results are.