• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Barrel Swap Equipment Checklist

stanley_white

If it ain’t broke, you can’t resist.
Minuteman
  • Feb 24, 2008
    Washington D.C. Metro Area
    I am gathering the equipment I will eventually need to do a barrel swap on my Howa 1500, and other rifles in the future.

Yes, I know the Howa 1500s are a sumbitch to change, and believe me, if I have doubts, off to the gunsmith it goes immediately.

I am posting to verify the equipment I will need as I have never done this before and thus I am ignorant.

1. Barrel Vise (I am looking at the Viper)

2. Action Wrench (I am looking at the Northland Shooters Supply version)

3. Savage-like barrel nut from Patriot Valley Arms (I would likely get the barrel from them too)

4. Go and No-Go Gauge (Clymer brand seems to keep coming up in my search -- is there better?)

5. Torque Wrench (Does anyone have a brand to recommend?)

6. Crow's Foot attachment for torque wrench to fit barrel nut.

I welcome your thoughts.

Thank you.

-Stan

Reactions: 338dude
    - nickel anti-seize
    - something to measure base to shoulder, if you're curious about the actual length of the go, no-go gauges that you get, also useful to match your sizing die to the chamber after the barrel is threaded on

I have and use the Viper barrel vise and a NSS action wrench on my Remington and Savage Target actions. I also have an 8" long 2" diameter steel rod section that I use to whack the action wrench when breaking loose a factory fitted Remington barrel. I pre-load the wrench, then give it a whack, not my fingers. The sharp impulse has seemed to work, luck helps too.

Best of luck.

I think your list looks good. I went with the PMA Tools vice and action wrench.