• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Barrel vise set up

Gledeasy

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 16, 2012
Nephi, UT U.S.A.
I've been collecting parts for a couple of years for a 6.5 CM. I'm just about to send my barrel off to Josh at PVA. This rifle I've always planned on having as a switch barrel set up (bighorn tl3), so to do that I need to purchase a few tools. One being a barrel vise. I'm wondering if there is any particular one that is recommended. My barrel is a proof sendaro light.

Thanks

I just used the viper rest for my remage install and it worked fine. Wrapped the barrel in a business card and it had plenty of grip and non marred. Ive seen the 21st century that looks pretty much exactly the same and at a better price but I had already ordered the viper on a good sale from bullets.com. I have heard if you want to do a bunch of factory barrel removal youll want something with more heft to it though.

Not sure if the carbon requires something special but I imagine a cardboard tube/business card/leather would protect the finish.
[IMG2=JSON]{"data-align":"none","data-size":"full","height":"398","width":"398","src":"http:\/\/www.viperbench-rest.com\/Viper%20Barrel%20Vise.jpg"}[/IMG2]
[IMG2=JSON]{"data-align":"none","data-size":"full","height":"253","width":"426","src":"http:\/\/nebula.wsimg.com\/3225ad802b8507072e72a14274c51689?AccessKeyId=D665AA0C95BD1D877538&disposition=0&alloworigin=1"}[/IMG2]

I use a Viper as well and it has worked great for me.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I've had a viper for close to 10 years now and use the shit out of it. Everything from torquing barrels to holding geissele reaction rods while working on AR's, torquing muzzle devices, and even holding rifles for cleaning and other stuff.