• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Basic M-4 Carbine

bkglock

Field Marshal
Minuteman
Nov 9, 2002
USA
I'm looking into getting a no frills, basic iron sighted, M-4.
I have limited experience with this type of gun, and I am on a tight budget. How much do I need to spend? What brands are good? Any and all comments are welcome, thank you.

Re: Basic M-4 Carbine

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: bkglock</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm looking into getting a no frills, basic iron sighted, M-4.
I have limited experience with this type of gun, and I am on a tight budget. How much do I need to spend? What brands are good? Any and all comments are welcome, thank you. </div></div>

It all depends on what your budget is. If you supply some more info I am sure the Hide members will guide you in the right direction.

BCM and LMT can both be had for under a grand if you shop around. Even the Colt 6920 can be had around that price new. These are high quality guns.

If it's just for fun, Bushmaster, DPMS, and others can be found under 700 used.

Budget is $900.
Any info. on S&W M+P 15 Seems I could get one of these for my budget of $900

I would say my first choice would be a Bravo company if you didn't mind ordering one online. If not my office has a few S&W M&PX's that are pretty nice for the money. You should not have any issues with the smiths.

bargain bin m4 from CMMG, they sell "bargain bin" M4's at local gunshows for $675 so im sure you could call em and get one

When I purchased my entry level AR the one thing I am very glad I did was build the lower myself. It just gave me a better understanding of how things work and would advise you to do the same.