• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Bedding Rem 700 5R rifle

308Dude

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 3, 2009
Northern CA
This is my first attempt at bedding a rifle. If it weren't for this recession, I would have paid someone to do it. That plus the excellent write-ups found on this forum gave me the impetus to give it a go. Listed below are some links to other threads on the Hide that I found particularly helpful. There are lots of tips out there and I won't try to repeat them all here.

Reference #1
Reference #2
Reference #3
Reference #4

The stock is a standard HS Precision for the 5R having an aluminum bedding block. I found that it actually touched the action in only a small percentage of the area where you might think it should be touching. Here is a picture before I did anything.
IMG_2404.jpg

Preparations included making temporary guide bolts out of 1/4" steel rod, masking the stock, fitting a barrel "doughnut", removing the trigger assembly, applying putty, milling the bed, and taping the front and sides of the recoil lug with electrical tape. In this next pic you can see the "doughnut", which with the rear tang area suspends the whole action off the stock.
IMG_1213.jpg

Here you can see the rear half of the action. I've plugged up holes and created dams with plumber's putty to keep the Devcon where I want it or out of where I don't want it. You can also see my custom guide bolts made from 1/4" steel bar stock and approx 5/16" of 28 tpi threads. There's electrical tape around them to center them in the stock holes.
IMG_1202.jpg