• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

PRS Talk Beginner here: Can I get DOPE on my rifle, put that in my Kestrel, and roll with that for the life of the barrel?

richthe1

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Mar 31, 2018
I shoot factory Hornady 108gr ELDM 6mm creedmoor. Is the velocity, etc., going to be changing much throughout the life of the barrel where I need to change my dope? Do I need to find a new MV (or something?) every “X” number of rounds?

I am getting into PRS club matches and I don’t want to be tweaking a lot of data every few times I go out to shoot. If this is a thing, would a 6.5 or 308 be more forgiving where I wouldn’t have to update my data?

Am I overthinking this?
Thanks for the help!

Last edited:
Usually, a new barrel's muzzle velocity will increase until you get some baseline copper buildup. I'd put at least 50 rounds through it before I would try to get reliable dope. Your need for data gathering and tracking depends on how precise you want to be and the distances at which you will be shooting. If you are just having fun shooting at targets (rather than being concerned about ethical kills at long range), then go shoot and have fun. Your desire to get and stay on target will naturally lead you to adjust for changes in MV, to the extent your target size and rage requires it.

You'll probably get 1500-2000 rounds through the barrel before you notice a significant drop in MV. Of course, that depends on how you treat your barrel. Yes, a 6.5 (Creedmoor I assume) barrel will last longer - probably 2000-3000 rounds. A 308 will last much longer - about 5000 to 6,000 rounds. I've heard of 308s with 10,000 rounds that still shot well.