• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Beginners Setup

DDuffeeInc

Private
Minuteman
Mar 26, 2012
Hello all this is my first post so go easy on me here.

I am a beginner shooter with about 6 months experience with pistols and just a month with rifle. I did a little target shooting the other day and really enjoyed it. It was so relaxing and at the same time challenging. I want to go further.

I am looking at what would be a good starter setup. The one thing I want is 308 ammo because of the lower cost per round to shoot compared to the larger ammo. From what I hear the 308 is not large but does have enough power to make the target.

I want to start at 100 to 200 yards then step up from there. I guess the rifle and scope I am looking for would be for 200 to 500 yards.

I have looked at a Savage 10/110 FCP HS Precision in 308. The scope I looked at was a Leupold 3 4.5x14x50. I also have looked at a Tikka T3.

My budget can be anywhere from $1500 to $3000. What can you tell me about which direction I am looking. I do understand that a costly rifle does not make a sharp shooter but I would like to start with a good setup and hone my skills to meet the equipment.

Is there anything else I need to start looking at?

Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Beginners Setup