• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Beowulf for Deer?

chadrp

Private
Minuteman
Feb 12, 2017
Central Iowa
I've been hunting deer forever with a 12ga slug gun, thats all Iowa allowed were slug guns. As I get older I've been thinking about going to a 20ga for lighter recoil and lighter gun. This year straight wall rifle cartridges will now be allowed and the Beowulf is included so I'm trying to decide which route to go and have a couple questions as I have no experience with any of the straight walled cartridges.

What would the effective range for the Beowulf be? Would like to have a 200yd range but most shots are 125yds or less.

What kind of recoil does it have?

Is ammo fairly easy to get?

If you have a choice between a 20ga, Beowulf, or another straight wall rifle which would you go with?

Thanks!

200 yards would be at the far end. Ammo is easy to get. Cabela's normally stocks some. The most common is the Rainier plated bullet load (because it is the cheapest). I shot a hog with mine and that load, not a lot of expansion. There are better loads.
Because AA hasn't (won't) have the cartridge tested/approved by SAAMI it is still considered a "wildcat". All factory ammo is loaded by AA. So go to their web site and see what they have. It is super easy to load your own. Uses the same bullets as the 500 S&W.
Recoil is about like a heavy 12 gauge or magnum 20 gauge load. Along those lines at least.
The two I have owned (still own a 10" SBR) have been very very accurate. I would think much more than a shot gun slug.