• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Bergara BMR Carbon or Steel Barrel

bsekf

Private
Minuteman
Jul 1, 2019
What are the advantages of the carbon fiber barrel over the steel barrel except weight and cost? Will accuracy be about the same?

I have no personal experience with the carbon version but I’ve heard people having some issues with them changing point on impact when they get a little warm due to the barrel walking within the carbon shell. Now you’ll definitely save a little bit of weight going with the carbon version, if you plan on using it for hunting it’s a good way to go but not the best for quick rates of fire during match use.

Guys have had issues with the carbon suppressed if that’s an issue. Due to it being a pencil barrel in a carbon sleeve vs wrapped

I have the carbon BMR, haven't noticed any POI shift after putting 100+ rounds though it in half an hour. I also haven't put my can on it, so I don't know how much that would increase the temperature. 🤷‍♂️

I primarily bought it to be a light(er) weight woods rifle...so cold bore shot POI shift is more of a concern, it does pretty well in that regard, minute of squirrel head is no problem.