• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Berger 140 6.5 Bullets

bower4311

Private
Minuteman
Mar 2, 2013
Rochester, NY
So I picked up a box of Bergers at my local gun shop and realized that the 5 boxes of berger were different. I looked once and thought they were target VLDs but the ones I got were target BT long range. I think he has some hunter VLDs and target VLDs. I'm very new to reloading and I'm thinking about returning the ones I got because the VLDs seem more popular meaning I can find more data. I'm reloading for a 260 with IMR 4831. Any advice? I think the VLDs are a little cheaper and I'm a broke college kid and could use the best deal possible. I will be hunting with it for a year so I should probably get a box of hunters anyway.

Thanks for any help!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Last edited:
They've been there for months. Call me lucky. I'm way up north of New York state not a lot of people around but a good gun smith. He had 900 pounds of powder and is down to a few odd ball powders now. Hasn't had a single pound come in, in 3 months. Also had 280k rounds of 223. That's gone now. But I was able to buy a case of PMC bronze for $400 even into February when you could only buy it for 1000 online.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

For my 260 I started out shooting the 140 Hunting VLDs but when I ran out the only bullets in stock were the 142 SMKs. They actually perform great with the same load as the H-VLDs.