• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Berger indecision...

black5.3

Sergeant
Supporter
Minuteman
Jun 1, 2017
NC
Hey guys,

I got my 30-06 rebarreled and went a little longer 28” and with a longer throat reamer. The idea was to get my bullets moving a little faster. I have been shooting the 195gr tmk’s for a couple years and they have done me well but im looking to get away from tipped bullets and im looking to go a little heavier. I have been toying with the idea of trying the 200gr berger hybrids or the 200.20x. And maybe later even try the 215gr hybrids. I understand the 200gr and the 200.20x are different bullets with different designs. Do you guys have much experience with either of these? The farthest i have available to me to shoot right now is 1,000 but would definitely want to try this rifle out farther when i get the opportunity. Im also looking to try rl23 or rl26 when i try this new bullet. My understanding is that rl26 isn’t as bulky as rl23 and is only marginally slower. What is you guys take on the powder as well?

I feel like with a 200gr bullet and a decently slow powder i should be able to obtain a solid 2800fps loadgive or take a little. With rl19 and the 195gr tmk i just started to see pressure right at 2800 with 57.9gr of powder.. im thinking if i go a little slower on the powder I shouldn’t have a problem seeing more speed. What is you guys take?