• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

wonnabesniper

Private
Minuteman
Aug 13, 2019
Hey guys,

I’m looking to build my first custom PRS rifle and open to advice.

the first and biggest thing on my list is finding a gunsmith to put it all together. I have no experience with any gunsmiths in Canada and looking for some advice. Does anyone have any experience with any gunsmiths in Canada you would trust to put together a precision rifle? Preferably one in Ontario but willing to deal with someone out of province.

I’ve been thinking about getting it chambered in 6.5 creedmore but open to suggestions. and parts that I’m interested in using for the rifle would be, a deviant defiance or deviant defiance tactical action, a proof research carbon fibre barrel, a trigger tech diamond 2 stage trigger. I don’t necessarily have stock in mind, possibly a h-s precision pst007 stock.

@wonnabesniper are you Canadian or just living here? The way you say you don't know any Canadian gunsmiths leads me to ask.

My first suggestion by reputation (never had work done by them) would be the Chou Brothers (Ontario), but they are not taking on new work. Insite Arms (makers of the Heathen muzzle brake) are also well regarded up here but they are based in Alberta. They spun me up a Bartlein (blank bought from the Chou Bros) that has consistently delivered far more accuracy than I can.

The reason for asking about where you are from is that if you are from say the USA, you would likely find it faster and easier to have a rifle assembled in the US and import it here. Getting all the parts up here for a dream build may involve more than one dealer or vendor and quickly add time and cost.