• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Best complete AR for under $1000

Outdoorsman9

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 21, 2011
Wisc
I'm in the market for an AR and was just wondering what some of your recommendations would be. I'm looking for the best bang for my buck. I'm new to the AR scene so give me a break.

Here's what I'm looking for:
- .223 cal (5.56)
- Accurate out to 500 yards
- Reliable and easy to maintain/clean
- Company that cares about customer service
- Hunting/Target rig
- Compatable with a variety of optics

If there's another thread on here that would help with my search, please post the link.

Re: Best complete AR for under $1000

Take a look at the offerings from Rock River Arms (RRA) if $1k is your total budget (without optics). There are few companies that offer the quality of RRA for a more budget-minded price. Their Varmint, Predator Pursuit and similar rifles offer outstanding accuracy (sub-MOA capable and guaranteed), SS match barrels (Wylde chambered to permit use of both .223 Rem and 5.56x45 ammo). All of the RRA rifles I have fired have been well made/put together rifles that offered solid reliability with proper maintenance. RRA has had some hiccups with their CS dept in the past, but they are committed to provided good service from my experience with them. As for your optics flexibility, the RRA rifles I mentioned all have flattop uppers that allow for mounting of traditional scopes, holographic sights/red dots, etc.