• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Best long range 30-06 bullet

Slothgunner

Private
Minuteman
Jan 8, 2021
California
Just 30-06 loads
I’m just getting into long range shooting and I was hoping for some help. I have a 24” barrel with a 1:10 twist. Just wanting to work up some good loads and was hoping to be pointed in the right direction. ie bullet grain and type, type of powder and primer.
thanks in advance

Reactions: Lite
What types of powder, primers and projectiles do you currently have in your possession?

Someone posted 210 and 215 Bergers at a reasonable price but I forget where they were at.

Take a look or do a search on some old threads by MontanaMarine. Seems like 208 Amax and RL-22 was a good combination.

Reactions: Leatherlunger
I'd think the 190 to 220 range in Sierra or Berger, but the AMAX does great also. Soory, not much help, I shoot .308 and 5.56.

I can try to send some of German Salazar's articles on 1k load development if you'd like.

Reactions: Leatherlunger
Between montana marine’s posts and german salazars articles, that was the foundation i used when I was figuring out an ‘06 i had years ago. Cant remember my recipes back then, but 200/215 hybrids worked really well in mine. Wish i still had it. My favorite 30 caliber cartridge of all time.

Reactions: stello1001
You will find great performance with 190-210 bullets with high ballistic coefficients. You want to be looking for velocities above 2700 fps. Most situations, you are not going to get to 2900 fps without seeing pressure signs.