• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing best method of indicating in a bolt

ballistictip1088

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
May 31, 2022
az
I've gotten a few different opinions about this.
when indicating in a bolt is it best to indicate in off the bolt body? or indicate in off the firing pin hole using a gauge pin?

I am in my second year of smithing school and focusing on precision bolt guns. the question comes from different answers I've gotten from instructors. these were the two answers given to me when I started an m16 extractor and truing up the lugs on a rem700.

Attachments

• a1.jpg
    a1.jpg
    554.5 KB · Views: 135
Last edited:
Not a gunsmith, but coming from a machining background, gage pin in the firing pin hole sounds like the better option. If the bolt is machined well from the start, it really wouldn't matter, but any dimensional deviance in the bolt body like taper and/or excess run out will compound your truing efforts. A first step is to check the concentricity and taper of the bolt body, then check the concentricity of the firing pin hole to the bolt body (at both ends of the bolt body and check for hole taper as well), then go on to truing up the lugs and bolt face from there.