• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Best recoil pad for heavy hitters

Nathantc

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
May 20, 2020
Like the title says, what is your opinion of the absolute best recoil pad for large magnums, over bore, or large shotguns. Basically hard hitting rifles that need something to comfort and protect the shooter.

Name your favorite and explain why.

I have no personal experience with these, but trap shooters and several of the F-class shooters like them.

AB8263B5-3D81-48EC-AED9-AC3F73DA4EDE.jpeg

3ADD47F2-B91F-4E2A-9C5F-CB997BDA3260.jpeg

liking the sound of a hydraulic recoil system

just need some fuzzy dice to hang off the turret caps :love:

• Haha
Reactions: Nathantc
I made one for a shotgun with black foam pipe insulation and electrical tape.

Works surprisingly well...

• Haha
I use Kick-eeze on competition skeet shotguns for years.....15K rounds a year between comps and practice. I put a Kick-eeze on my JAE. Its a 6.5 CM so I didn't do it for more recoil absorbtion but rather I put a thinner pad on than the stock one to reduce LOP by 1/2" and frankly the JAE OEM pad just sucked in every way. IMO, lousy recoil reduction and too slick. I have no idea why in the world J Allen would pay the non-recurring for that injection molded POS.

I'm very happy with the selection of profiles they offer, their performance, and their durability.

But, Pachmayr or LimbSaver will be as fine, I'm sure.

Gooey Pads are supposed to be very soft and absorb recoil very well but as also reputed to be far less durable as a result.

Cheers

Reactions: Wasskeet