• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Bewildering Powder Selections!

Phil3

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 13, 2008
San Ramon, CA
I am new to reloading and am making my first powder, brass, primer, and bullet purchase for an AR15 223 Remington, with 1:9" twist barrel. Unsure on powders. Would the following be a good selection of things to start out with to determine a good load? All this stuff comes from one source saving shipping. Shooting 52 - 55 grain, 60, and 69 grain match bullets, at paper targets, 100 yards, sometimes 300. CCI 400 primers, Winchester brass.

Accurate 2230
Alliant Reloder 15 (RE 15)
Hodgdon H322
Hodgdon Benchmark
Ramshot TAC

I had heard the Benchmark might burn too fast leaving little pressure at the gas port. It is the fastest burning of the bunch. If it makes sense to buy another powder from a vendor who has it (w/another Hazmat charge), will do.

- Phil

Re: Bewildering Powder Selections!

You don't need all those powders...

TAC is all you need and it is a good choice because it is easy to measure and is accurate out to 600yds. IMR 4895 is also good, but doesn't measure as well.

The Hornady 75 gr hp match bullet will handle target chores to 600 and use Rem 7 1/2, CCI BR-4 or Fed 205M primers in the ar-15 because they are thicker.

TC

For the lighter bullets I would use the benchmark. I've tried TAC and benchmark so far (new to reloading the AR-15 myself). My groups were much tighter with the Benchmark. Both powders flow really consistent through my Redding powder thrower.

BTW, I am shooting 55gr FMJBT Hornady Bulk Bullets out of a 16" RockRiver Carbine barrel