• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Bipod accuracy help on hunting gun

7mm-08 Freak

Medic
Minuteman
Jul 11, 2010
San Angelo TX
I am new to the Bi-pod world. I have been lucky enough to draw a tag for Pronghorn in 2 months and Id like to use a Bi-pod. Problem at hand my groups go from .65" of of a bag to 3"+ off the bi-pod on a bench at 100yds. The gun is a Montana 1999 in 6.5 CM sporting a Swarovski Z3. It is nothing fancy just a hunting gun. Bought it 3 days ago new. I figure ill be walking and shooting prone off of some sort of rest. Any suggestions on what to do or check to make it "shoot" on something besides a 10lb sand bag.

The good and bad groups. Top left was a called flyer on the good group. Hell I stopped at 3 on the bad one. Figured my 4th shot would have missed the back stop the way it was going.

Attachments

• photo67882.jpg
    photo67882.jpg
    60.6 KB · Views: 19
  • photo67883.jpg
    photo67883.jpg
    62 KB · Views: 28
What stock are you using? You are either overloading the bipod, not loading it enough, or the bipod is pushing the stock against the barrel.

Toss your backpack down and use that. I prefer to use my backpack when varmint hunting, and then use the bipod as my secondary option. lol

You could go old school and shoot off a small pack, althought that may be too low for a lot of situations.

Is the forend stiff enough to handle the bipod? Bipod legs act like a torque arm on the forend, a situation that isnt present when shooting off a bag. If your barrel is floated, but with iinsufficient clearance, you'll have issues. If it uses a tip pressure point, you'll have essentially the same issues due to inconsistencies shot to shot.