• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Advanced Marksmanship bipod orientation

mocos

Private
Minuteman
Aug 5, 2009
CALIFORNIA
for my first post...just bought a r5..and doing some homework

I have noticed pictures in the forum of rifles where the bipod is mounted with the legs oriented so that when closed, would face rearward...elsewhere I have read threads for "loading" the bipod where the legs would be pointing forward when closed and I understand the concept. Is there a technique or reason for mounting the pod where the legs would be facing rearward when closed?

Re: bipod orientation

Im not a expert on bipods but for me a backwards bipod would be useless as tits on a boarhog.There would be no way to load it without it folding up on you.A proper load is a must if you want to keep your sight picture and have the rifle recoil straight back.Without the proper load the rifle will hop on you and you will find yourself having to readjust for your sight picture after every shot...........just my .02

If it is a shooters ridge or Harris the legs have to go foward. Some bipods like versa-pod and I think Atlas will allow the legs to go foward or backwards.

I tend to agree with 467...I didn't see any advantage with the pod mounted where legs were backwards....the question came up when I viewed pictures in the "for sale" thread where the pod was mounted legs backwards (Harris).....can one "load" a pod shooting up a steep incline?..or does mounting it "backwards" lessen recoil?