• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Bipods - worth the extra money?

billythewop

Private
Minuteman
Aug 19, 2019
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to Long Range shooting - I've got a harris bipod currently (couldn't tell you which model) - it seems to do just fine - just wondering if there are any advantages to buying a higher end bipod? or should I just run what I got?

I'll say try someone else's first if you can. I tried and owned just about everything but I still like the simplicity of the harris best.

Others will say it's the biggest pos they ever laid eyes on. Use what works best for you.

I'll say try someone else's first if you can. I tried and owned just about everything but I still like the simplicity of the harris best.

Others will say it's the biggest pos they ever laid eyes on. Use what works best for you.
I like the idea of being able to lay the legs forward if that makes sense - and I don't think my harris can do that.

If you are new, I wouldn't worry too much about jumping into a new bipod unless you want to spend some money.

There are certainly much better bipod's than the Harris, but bipods in a way are pretty mission specific. So it's hard to recommend any one bipod.

The Ckye-pod is an excellent field bipod, though perhaps overkill for other applications. TBAC and Atlas are pretty darn good general purpose use bipods. LRA makes great bipods for square range/F-Class/ELR purposes. Elite Iron makes a great bipod, people like them on their ELR rigs. Some people really like Accu-Tac (though it's not to my personal preference).

Reactions: John Glidewell
Ive had atlas bipods on all my rifles a time or two but always end up selling them and going back to harris