• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Sidearms & Scatterguns Blade length ambiguity laws in NC

callen3615

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 27, 2010
Peidmont, NC
Hey guys, I recently purchased a Benchmade Adamas. Its a great knife and I really appreciate the quality since ive been carrying a broken kershaw assisted open for 12 years.

After looking at the knifes specs (Overall Length: 8.70" Closed Length: 4.88" Blade Length: 3.82") i decided to google NC laws just to see if there are any retarded laws regarding size or the method of carry of pocket knives. Much to my surprise, I saw a few older threads stating that NC has a 3.5" maximum of pocket knife blades, or an overall length of 4.5 inches, and that NO knives can be concealed, even if you are a CCW permit holder. I searched around on a NC legislative website and the only thing I saw was in the concealed weapon law:

"...This section does not apply to an ordinary pocket knife carried in a closed position. As used in this section, "ordinary pocket knife" means a small knife, designed for carrying in a pocket or purse, that has its cutting edge and point entirely enclosed by its handle, and that may not be opened by a throwing, explosive, or spring action...."

My benchmade's blade is contained within the handle in the closed position.

GS_14-269

I also saw it mentioned that the overall length closed cannot exceed 4.5 inches, I dont see that anywhere in the above clause. I will admit that "ordinary pocket knife" and "small knife, designed for carrying in a pocket or purse..." is ambiguous.

This site lists some NC case law regarding knives:

http://knife-expert.com/nc.txt

"Knife about 4-1/2 inches in overall length which, when
folded, was clearly designed for carrying in a pocket or