• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Bobro or Burris Extreme Tactical Rings

snake_charmer

Private
Minuteman
Jul 11, 2013
Florida
I've been piecing together a bolt gun for the last several months, Savage 10 fcp-sr. I finally ordered a scope from a hide member which is a SWFA SS 5-20x50. At this point I'm ready to donate plasma just to finish this build. I was looking at Burris Extreme Tactical Rings which are very affordable but I initially had my eye on the Bobro qd mount from SWFA. Would it be worth my while to hold off for the Bobro. I was reading that the Burris rings require lapping/beding?

I haven't required lapping any of the sets I've used. Probably have 5 sets holding on glass right now. I do have a lap bar and give them a couple passes to see how it all looks. So far they've all been fine straight up and all I've done is waste paste. I do this to all my rings as part of the install.

Good rings if you like em chunky. And the price is good.

The XTR rings are o-k but if I were budget limited I would spend another $10 or so to get Warne or Leupold PRW rings, which go on sale at MidwayUSA pretty much alternating months. (I think the PRW's are on sale right now, $45 or so per set if I remember right). They are made in the USA and I've never had a problem with the ones I've used (probably 5 sets of Warne and 1-2 sets of Leupold - which I think are made by Warne).

I don't think a Bobro QD mount makes much sense for that kind of rifle, in terms of height or application. If I were not budget limited I would simply go with one of the nicer/pricier sets of conventional scope rings: ARC, Seekins, PRI, TPS, Griffin, Badger, Nightforce, Talley, etc. (probably two dozen others I'm not listing).