• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Bolt Action Build

Caleb.j.daum

Private
Minuteman
Oct 29, 2023
montana
Hello I’m new to the whole long range world and would like to begin a bolt action build. I’m a machinist and would like to make my own barrel from a blank. I’m looking for input on what action to get. I’ve been considering a Zermatt Origin action. I would like to be able to use this rifle for long range shooting and hunting. Im not set a certain cartridge yet either so any input would be appreciated.

I’ve heard good things about them. I have an AR 10 in .308 and one is 6.5 CM. I would like a cartridge that would have a little more impact outside of 300 yds and with more speed. I’ve been looking at 300 win mag or 300 Norma mag.

Origins are great! Good general all around target/hunting round, 7mm-08 or 65cm. 308 works, just crap in the wind. Lots of good ammo choices available though.

Agree on 308 for the first build -- and the Origin allows you to easily swap barrels/calibers down the road

308 ammo seems to be the best price these days too -- and it is widely available

I’ve heard good things about them. I have an AR 10 in .308 and one is 6.5 CM. I would like a cartridge that would have a little more impact outside of 300 yds and with more speed. I’ve been looking at 300 win mag or 300 Norma mag.
So are you going to buy a long or short action? What magazines are you going to use?

Were I you, and assuming you're not an AI, I would do a short action Origin in .223 Wylde using Accurate Mag AICS magazines. Later on when you want to practice your barrel making skillz you can buy a.478 bolt face and come back to this forum to argue about 308 vs 6.5 Creedmore.