• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Bolt gun recommendations?

Toddcal13

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 29, 2010
Bay Area, CA
Hey guys,

I am new to bolt guns, typically I shoot with my m1a national match or scout squad. I am looking for advice on what to buy that is economical yet accurate in either a .308 or .22-250. Trying to keep my total expenditures around 1500. I have a night force on my national match that I will be moving over to this rifle as I find it more fun to shoot the NM with irons. Looking for something good out to 600 yds.

Thining about a rem my target tactical, savage 10fp, cz527, FN

Thanks for the help!

Re: Bolt gun recommendations?

Ill be the first one to say "SEARCH" still a noob to this site but this is asked every week.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: JEdmiston</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have had Good luck with Remington 700 in .308.</div></div> I would go a step further with your budget and go with a rem 700 Mil-spec 5r that leaves you enoguh left over for decent base, bipod and case

The 5r I pretty nice. What base would you recommend? I am thinking badger 20 moa

badger 20 MOA is top notch a NF 20 moa steel is great as well ( I have one on a SPS as well. My 5 R came with TPS 20 MOA and I see no reason to change it

You could look into the Savage 10FCP series of rifles which are pretty good out of the box for accuracy and there is plenty of information out there as well as parts if you want to start souping them up.
Look at the Savage 10FCP-McMillan or H&S or the FCP-K.

Either way Savage or Remington you really can't go wrong!

Good luck!

All the rifles you mentioned are nice, but the only one I can't comment on since I don't have experience with it...is CZ.