• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Bore Guide

Medic1236

Private
Minuteman
Jan 19, 2020
I am new to bolt action rifles. I am looking for a high quality bore guide. It is my understanding the Lucas no longer makes bore guides. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I am using a Remington 700 chambered in .308

Last edited:
Well since its a generic request any old generic rod guide will do well enough. I have the Sinclair guides.

I use possum hollow and they are a solid product. Check their website for the one you need.

Reactions: Gee Kay
really like these guys but it is prem. $$.

59d1af5eb23f65689fe400cb372e036d

21st Century

I use the Tipton universe bore guide setup

Last edited:
Thank you for the information. I’ve been looking at Bore Tech and I am impressed with what I’ve seen and read.

Thank you for the information. I’ve been looking at Bore Tech and I am impressed with what I’ve seen and read.
I have multiple bore guides and their proof positive jags... never had any issue with any of their equipment and wouldn't hesitate to buy again.

no need of a tube of plastic or aluminum to cost more than $20!!!
however it fits, you still have to clean the chamber.

so why not use an otis system rather than a bore guide ? stupid question maybe but i love my otis. is there an accuracy problem using them.
Otis is great for portability. I have a decent size otis kit. I still prefer a rod and bore guide.
The otis is kind of a pain with a large opening muzzle break as it needs coaxed through.