• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Brand new to suppressors...

Glock1943

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Aug 11, 2021
Huntsville, AL
Hey fellas, I recently purchased a DD M4A1 and would like to purchase a suppressor for this. I'm prior military police but we never got into the suppressor world, so I'm a complete newb. Besides noise reduction what am I looking for in a high quality suppressor? The two initial one's I'm looking at are the DD Soundguard or the SureFire SOCOM556-RC2. Thanks for any help you guys can provide.

Hey fellas, I recently purchased a DD M4A1 and would like to purchase a suppressor for this. I'm prior military police but we never got into the suppressor world, so I'm a complete newb. Besides noise reduction what am I looking for in a high quality suppressor? The two initial one's I'm looking at are the DD Soundguard or the SureFire SOCOM556-RC2. Thanks for any help you guys can provide.
The DD’s are made by KGM I believe so I have no doubt they are good to go. If it was me I’d do the surefire if you are only choosing between those two. I have no doubt 30 other people will come long and recommend others.

Reactions: Glock1943
It will help if you define your needs. For example if you are going to be shooting indoors a lot a low back pressure can like the huxworks are good to investigate. Weight is another concern for a lot of people. Personally I carefully calculated out weight before I started building up an AR. A pound isn't much but put that pound out on the end of a broom stick and then tell me how it feels after an hour.

To me, by far the most important thing is the mounting system with weight being a secondary concern.

Some people hunt pigs at night so for them flash suppression is important.