• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Brass for a class...

Cproflow

King of the Shank
Minuteman
Jan 12, 2011
Lyons, Colorado
I have been fortunate enough to get the green light from my keeper and will be attending a Rifles Only class this summer. She thinks I'm nuts, but agreed with me that getting some quality instruction is its own reward.

That said, I need to come up with 500 rounds of .308 for the class. I of course want the only limiting factor in the course to be me...not my rounds! I'm planning on using either 178 A-max or 175 SMK sitting on top of Varget.

I'm somewhat new to the .308, so I don't have piles of brass. Right now I have been using Winchester, which seems to be viewed as favorable in the price to performance ratio.

I know Lapua is considered the next level up, and its price reflects that. People seem to love it, and I don't dispute their findings.

So in doing a quick Pro/Con list:

Winchester Pros: decent brass, affordable,
Winchester Cons: will require <span style="text-decoration: underline">all</span> the prep (PP uniforming, deburring, initial annealing(?), less reloading lifetime

Lapua Pros: exceptional brass, minimal prep (just FLS, right?), extended case life (I shoot with ~44.0 - 44.4gr)
Lapua Cons: Expensive!!!

While it would be painful to go Lapua, it isn't off the table, especially if it helps eliminate one of the variables that gets in the way of the whole 'indian or the arrow' mindsets.

Suggestions? Comments? Am I overthinking it?
Anybody got a resource for the best price on Lapua?
wink.gif

Re: Brass for a class...

I'd go Winchester, just buy a thousand pieces and a thousand 175SMKs, some Varget and Plano Fed 210s, figure out your load and start cranking out ammo.