• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Budget Setup For Beginner (Need Advice)

Kwfranklin88

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jan 11, 2020
Alabama
I’m new to long range shooting. I want to get a rifle, scope, and reloading equipment to get started and see if I like it. I need the cheapest setup possible that will work well enough for me to learn on. I don’t have much free time or money. I don’t want to invest a lot and end up only being able to shoot once or twice a year. I enjoy hunting so if I don’t get into the long range game I can always use the rifle for hunting. I need a good hunting rifle anyway. I’m not worried about tiny groups. I just want a good dependable setup that will consistently shoot moa or better. So far I’m leaning towards a Ruger Predator that I can slowly upgrade as I go. I’m not gonna put very much money into it though. I will mostly do the diy upgrades. Maybe get a Magpul hunter stock at the most. The reason being if I enjoy long range shooting and have the time to do it I will use the rifle as a hunting rifle and build a good long range only rifle. As far as optic goes. I need the cheapest possible that will get me out to 800 yards reliably and consistently. I need an optic that will track good enough to teach me how to use the turrets. The only scopes I’ve used are 3-9 duplex reticle hunting scopes. I need to learn how to holdover and adjust turrets for shots. I just want a single stage press to start with to learn the basics of reloading. I am thinking the lee anniversary kit with a digital scale and calipers. I’ve been doing a ton of research for a couple of months. I really want to learn these valuable skills. I’m also keeping an eye out for used equipment. If I find a good used deal I will definitely go that ro