• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Budget Shooting Comms

Beepy

Sergeant
Minuteman
Nov 18, 2008
The Northwest Mountains
So I have been reading the threads on the nicer UHF/Ham setup with peltor headsets. Pretty nice but I dont think that we want to venture in the radio world of ham frequencies and similar. We were thinking maybe a cheaper radio, but keeping a higher quality headset would work for us. We usually are within 500 yards of each other, usually in line of site, or maybe just off. We just need to communicate over that shorter distance hands free. Thoughts? As you can tell by my post, I am a comm newbie. I can tell you how to cross clamp an aorta but now only the basics of radios.

Decide how far you want to talk. Ham will require a license which you will need to pass a test. It took me a weekend to study for the test. There is about 200 possible questions they can ask, but only 35 on the test. I used QRZ. Com for the practice test. They can change the order of the answers (a,b,c,d) but can not change the wording of the questions and answers.

Most handheld radios will cost a few hundred dollars. With my handheld I was able to reach about 5 miles without a repeater. If you shoot in the mountains there will be dead spots. 6 meter works better for hills (not mountains) but is less common than 2 meter. I would say about 95 percent of people use 2 meter for most of their local communications.

With a repeater I am able to talk almost anywhere in LA and Orange County. With a base radio in the HF band I have talked to Eastern Europe with 100 watts. (Handhelds run 5 watts)

Last edited: