• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Budget spotting scope for 400 yards and under use

Heronion

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 22, 2010
Houghton, Michigan
Hello, gents. I am finding myself needing a spotting scope. Being a poor college student, I'd like to stick to a budget of under $200. Now, I know the [insanely awesome and expensive spotting scope]s will be much better than this. That is not the point. The point is, I can only afford to spend $200.

I need recommendations on spotting scopes that 1) are under $200 and 2) will be able to see .308 bullet holes in white paper at 400 yards (farthest target at my range).

If these criteria are not possible in a <$200 spotter, let me know. I just want to know if any of you own/have used one that meets these two criteria.

Also, I have a vast supply of used tripods/stands so if it does not come with one it is not a deal breaker to me.

Hit me with your knowledge!

Cheers,
Brian

Re: Budget spotting scope for 400 yards and under use

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Zanshin</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I know you said under $200, but this is about $250 and seems to get decent reviews.

http://www.jarheadtop.com/KONUS.htm

I don't have personal experience with one though (I have a Kowa).

</div></div>

They also have the rent a scope option so if you decide to upgrade later. Maybe worth considering.

I recommend taking a look at the Bushnell Trophy 20-60x65mm .
This is a quality scope for a great price. I was able to see .223 holes at 200 yards with this model. I cant guarantee you will see holes at 400 yards, but it will get you close.
Also, +1 for the Konus spotting scope.

Chase B.