• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Building a 223 precision AR...barrel?

Langford

Private Parts
Minuteman
Sep 24, 2014
Middlemitten
I’m in the process of collecting parts for a precision 223 build, and I’m going back and forth on barrels. The rifle will be used shooting either prone or off of a bench at 500-1000 yards mainly. It’ll be going on a set of KAC receivers.

Three in eyeing:

-JP 20” supermatch

-proof carbon fiber 20”

-bartlein 20” from craddock precision.

I’ve owned both the proof and JP in 6.5 Grendel and was very happy with both. I wouldn’t hesitate to buy either again. Bartlein has a reputation of being top notch, and I have never used one before...so I’m curious how it would perform against the other two.

Anybody have any input? Or others they’d recommend over the 3 mentioned above?

Thanks in advance!

A call to Keystone accuracy is where I would start. But like TonytheTiger said 1000 yards is quite a long ways for a ar.

Reactions: Langford
I’m in the process of collecting parts for a precision 223 build, and I’m going back and forth on barrels. The rifle will be used shooting either prone or off of a bench at 500-1000 yards mainly. It’ll be going on a set of KAC receivers.

Three in eyeing:

-JP 20” supermatch

-proof carbon fiber 20”

I’ve owned both the proof and JP in 6.5 Grendel and was very happy with both. I wouldn’t hesitate to buy either again. Bartlein has a reputation of being top notch, and I have never used one before...so I’m curious how it would perform against the other two.

Thanks in advance!
I can’t recomend Paul Craddock’s work enough. You won’t be disappointed.