• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Building a 22LR upper

SBRSarge

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 9, 2019
I have a spare BCM upper and 12” Coda Evolution hand guard. I think they need to be built into a 22lr SBR.

I’m new to 22lr AR builds and looking for recommendations on barrel, bolt, etc. Barrel should be in the 6 to 10 inch range to stay subsonic. I’ll be using it on my existing AR SBR’d lowers and it’ll have a suppressor on it, hence the short-ish barrel length to make it manageable for squirrel $ rabbit hunting, sparrow plinking, etc.

My centerfire builds give me sub moa. I’m looking for reasonably similar results in the 22lr but know the AR platform in 22lr might not get there easliy. 1” groups at 50 yards would be ok. Good enough to snipe the english sparrows invading my bluebird houses anyway.

Thanks for recommendations.

Reactions: obx22
While I haven’t yet rebarreled mine (too many projects), I will offer a bit of advice. Your projected barrel length will still send lots of bulk pack ammo above the sound barrier. A 3-3.5” barrel should about guarantee subsonic velocity with most hi-speed ammo, and could be sleeved to give the appearance/balance you want.

Don’t waste your money or effort, my M&P 15-22 simply works, the S&W mags superior to the CMMG/Blackdog ones, don’t let the plastic upper/lower fool you, they are all that is needed, aftermarket support is pretty good.
51829359-892B-4852-ABED-0DA820FD6A6E.jpeg

22AR.jpg

Here is one that I built but it has a dedicated upper with a 10" Clint Beyer barrel. Could have almost bought 5 15-22's for what I have in this.