• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

building a budget rig...

jayd4wg

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 12, 2009
Steel City
I know where this will start, so I want to squash a couple thoughts right away. Yes, i'm new to this board but not to the world of shooting. I'm new to centerfire, but have shot rimfire for a LONG time (20+ years). I've never owned a centerfire rifle until 2 weeks ago, and I am on a major budget.

I have already acquired a major part of my rig - the rifle itself, and am looking for some insight on using this rifle. I expect to hear, but did not come here for "it's a POS", or "you should have saved your money for a real gun", etc. I have what I have and want to get all I can out of it.

Now to the meat of my "first" post...

I have a new Marlin XS7 in .308 topped with a Bushnell Banner 6-18x50 (currently...this WILL change)sitting atop Leupold rifleman Tall rings and for the most part i punch paper, deer, and will eventually get the crosshairs to settle on a coyote, ground hogs and other BPUT's.