• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Building a new long range LR-308 - 1000 yard gun

Pyrex

Private
Banned !
Minuteman
Jan 25, 2011
USA
Well, I've decided to start on an LR308 for my next target rifle. I like the challenge of a semi auto, and I have some experience shooting F-T/R with my previous rifle. I want some more grunt and a little less wind involvement so I'm going to move up a click. What I'd like to know from some experienced shooters is where should I be looking for my next barrel? It appears Krieger only makes 20" barrels, which isn't going to get me enough velocity for what I want to do. I was looking for some ballistic tables and it seems I'm going to need at least a 24" barrel. My experience with 168gr SMK's is they run out of gas at ~850-890 yards and take the nearest exit. I believe I can get a 175gr SMK to stay supersonic out to 1000 yards, so that is likely going to be my target projectile. Given that, I need to settle on a twist. 1:10 is probably going to get the job done, but I've run across a few manufacturers (such as black hole weaponry) that run non standard twists (I presume this is because they are polygonal rifled). 1:11.25, and 1:8.5 twist rates. 1:11.25 seems a little slow, I'm scared I might run into stability problems reaching out, and 1:8.5 seems like way too much twist. Lothar Walther has some great options, but they cost a bit more - I was looking at a custom 26" 1:10 from them. What is everyones thoughts on these different barrels? Any suggestions?

Dont think your gonna go wrong with either twist. I believe the 1:11.25 was found to be the perfect twist by the USMC for the 175smk. Seems to work fine for me with 175 & 178a maxs. The stock 1:10 that came with the LR works well to.