• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Building collapse on east coast of florida

https://www.cbsnews.com/live-updates/florida-building-collapse-surfside/

surfside-florida-partial-building-collapse-062421-from-distance.jpg

• Wow
Reactions: Jgunner
I'm not a structural engineer (mechanical HVAC) but being 45 years in the commercial construction business
I've learned a thing or two. That looks to me from the pics to be a mild steel (re-bar) concrete slab building and not PT (post tensioned slab). I f they were working on the roof as the one article stated, I'm guessing there may have been a lot of rain infiltration from the bad roof and over time the re-bar rusted out and the concrete may have even degraded a bit and the roof slab pancaked.

I'm not a structural engineer (mechanical HVAC) but being 45 years in the commercial construction business
I've learned a thing or two. That looks to me from the pics to be a mild steel (re-bar) concrete slab building and not PT (post tensioned slab). I f they were working on the roof as the one article stated, I'm guessing there may have been a lot of rain infiltration from the bad roof and over time the re-bar rusted out and the concrete may have even degraded a bit and the roof slab pancaked.
Being Miami, with lots of local sand, the contractor could have save a lot by using beach sand for the concrete rather than paying for washed sand. Caveat is beach sand is full of salt which is extremely detrimental to both steel and concrete. I watched them do that on the beach near Tulum, Mexico.

Or the commentator did say there were at least 20 Israeli's missing. It did look like a clumsy controlled demolition.

Reactions: Edgecrusher
was anyone inside or was it new development awaiting people moving in?