• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Building of a new 223 Rifle

K9067

Private
Minuteman
Dec 12, 2020
Canada
Brand New to this one! I have never done this before but considering building my first own 223. I would like to build something that I can not only take to the range every weekend and shoot approx 100 rounds or so through it. But also take it coyote hunting if I like as well. Not looking to compete at any level in competition shooting. Interested in anyone professional opinions in putting together a nice build from the stock up! Or am I better to just purchase a factory one? I will be shooting 55 grain bullets through it. Am I better to go with a 1:8 or 1:10 or 1:12 twist? Ideas! SEND IT! Thanks for your help.

Last edited:
Build a Creedmoor unless you have a LOT of match 308 rounds or reloading components laying around already.

I also wouldn't build one. It takes a long time and costs a lot of money. I would also ask around or check the "For Sale" section of the forum, there are plenty of guys wanting to free up cash for other things and they would likely be willing to let their old .308s go for a good price. As a bonus, they already have load data for those rifles most of the time.

My 2 cents.

Buddy picked up a Rem 700 and .223 criterion barrel from NSS and put it in an MPA chassis. His whole family loves to shoot it.

It isn't hard. That's a simple pick.

What's your budget?

Reactions: bunsen27
I recently did this. Debatable whether you could get something factory that is as customizable or you could grow into another barreled action.

$400 Remington 700 .223 varmint 1:9 twist barreled action
$350 KRG Bravo chassis
$150 Triggertech Primary
$350 Vortex Diamondback and rings
$200 Atlas bipod
$120 MDT 223 mags