• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Maggie’s Built Your Own Grill/Smoker/Pit?

Sean the Nailer

Sergeant
Minuteman
  • May 20, 2006
    Winnipeg, Mb.
    Hey all, I won't say that I'm a Professional Grillologist, but I have cooked a few things in the past, and I have made a method/apparatus or two before. Did what's needed to get the job done. Ie: my Tandoor thread in one of the old 'Hide's of past. Among other things.

But, I've a few ideas on a "meat-magic-maker" design that I'm thinking about starting relatively soon. Still haven't come up with the right name for the "charcouterie-center" yet, but it'll come. But not sure I've covered all my bases and just want some input as to what ya'll think is important when cooking/grilling/smoking.

Heat source:
    Solar
    Briquettes
    Chunk 'n Stick
    Pellet (Edited to add)
    Propane
    Natural Gas
    Electric

Considering accoutrements, there is also the separate yet added 'electrical' component:
    Solar
    12 v Battery
    120 v Household

I won't even get into the "electronical" end of things ie: Bluetooth, wifi, HiFi, or even Dolby Digital. This is a "protein processor" not a dance-party attraction.

We do a fair amount of grilling and smoking here, though what we have and how we do things it just always seems that "if I could only just...." then things would be better. Hence why I want to build my own setup. But once I get steel ordered, have it cut up, then assemble and weld it, it pretty much is decided that THAT is how it stays. Ergo, I want to make as many mistakes on paper first, to do the job as "rightest" as I can before starting to lay beads.