• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Bullet Damage from Rifling Engraving - Potential Impacts?

LRShooter101

Sergeant
Supporter
Minuteman
Nov 6, 2013
Southern, IN
I am starting this topic in response to some discussion that took place in another topic:
http://www.snipershide.com/shooting...-300-norma-magnum.6869034/page-2#post-7288108

The question came up about the "proper" twist rate in a .300 NM, followed by discussion about why one twist rate was or was not working?

My response to that line of questioning is below:

I am going to go out on a limb here, as I am by no means an expert on this subject, but hopefully it will get the conversation started, and maybe some more qualified experts will jump in.

There is talk here about barrel twist rates, and its impact on various parameters. Running through those:

Physical Impact on Bullet = Decreased BC - I have been arguing for years that the physical damage done to bullets could be a factor for consideration. If you look at how "hypothetical" BC numbers don't always work in External Ballistic Calcs, the bullet being damaged as it travels down the barrel could result in an altered/decreased BC.

Physical Impact on Bullet = Decreased Stability - Like the decreased BC, I have also been arguing that the physical damage done to a bullet can impact its physical makeup which can impact stability. If there is enough force/torque to distort/move the jacket in relation to the core, it would obviously impact stability.

I believe the 2 reasons above are why some shooters may be seeing less than optimal performance when they go to a faster twist rate. Basically the increased "twisting forces" does more damage to the bullet which has a negative impact.