• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Bullet seating depth inconsistencies

Drewdemon

Online Member
Minuteman
Feb 20, 2017
I’m still new to reloading, I’ve done my load development and have reloaded about 400 rounds so far. I've got an issue with a new lot of brass. I've painstakingly tinkered to get my seating die perfect. This worked great for the previous lot of 200. Now, i switched to a different set of brass and my seating depth measured from the ogive is all over the place. I find myself changing my seating die to get as close as i can to my prototype round.

Im not sure how to troubleshoot this? I thought it might be the new lot so I picked 15 bullets and cases, measured them (cases/bullets) so every single one has consistent measurements. Then i seat them but when i measure from the ogive there is large variances.

Prototype Round
Ogive: 2.228
OAL: 2.850
Hornady 6.5 CM Brass
Hornady 140gn ELD-M
Forester Co-ax, Forester micrometer seating die

Lot of 15 ogive measurements;
2.220 x2
2.223 x3
2.226 X2
2.227 x2
2.228 x1

Any help would be appreciated!

You cannot possibly get an exact seating depth from leaving the seating die at one setting. There are minor inconsistencies in any brand of bullet, causing small variances in base to ogive. If you want the same exact measurement, you have to seat the bullet a little long, measure, adjust the seater and set again, then measure to confirm. You need a micrometer die to do this, which you have already, and the forster is a good one.