• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Bullet seating inconsistency

TKellogg

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 25, 2011
South West Michigan
I've been reloading for a few years now and have tried all sorts of dies(RCBS, Forster, Hornady, and Redding). With all the different brands and even upgrading to the competition dies I'm still getting a wide variance in the seating depths when measured with a caliper.

Currently I'm trying to get a load worked up for my Tikka T3 Varmint using the Hornady 75gr HP bullet. I'm using a Redding comp seater with either Varget or H4895. I'm getting ok groups but I'd like to make them better.

I'm to the point of trying different seating depths but when I measure the first round(COAL) @ 2.395, then 2.405 then, 2.397 and so on. They are seem to be very inconsistent. Is there something I'm doing, is it a bullet problem or is it a die problem?

Re: Bullet seating inconsistency

The first question I'll ask is where are you measuring to? If you are measuring to the tip of the bullet you don't have a shot in hell at getting consistent measurements. If you are measuring to the ogive, then we can talk.

The only time COAL (cartridge over-all length) matters is if you are trying to make sure the loaded cartridge will fit in your mag box or you'll have to single feed.

If you are measuring to the ogive, I'd recommend the Hornady Bullet Comparator or Sinclairs version....they are the same.