• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

bullet seating !

XHODZAX

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 10, 2009
minnesota
i picked up rcbs kit @ cabela's and rcbs die's for .308.
when i seat the bullet into the case on the press it goes in very easy is that right?
i checked overall length and it is right on i try to pull the bullet out by hand and it wont come out.
so am i just being paranoid about it or is it the way it is supposed to be .
i am new to this so please don't slam me .

thanks

Re: bullet seating !

The force needed to seat a bullet should be less than 20% of what it took to size a fired case. As you load more rounds, your lever hand will become sensitive to the force needed to seat a bullet. If the necks are sized correctly and chamfered, the bullets should slide in with very little force. As your sensitivity increases, you will be able to feel those cases with tight or loose necks when seating the bullets. {keep the bearings on the press lubricated}

Being paranoid is a GOOD way to survive while reloading with all your fingers intact.

If you cant take the bullet out by hand its not gonna cause any problems. Its not gonna be in the group and i would set it aside for a first round unless they are all like that. I have even went as far as super gluing the bullets in because i was running so little neck tension that they would move on me. But thats what the gun liked....

Its not gonna cause you problems unless the bullets are falling well into the case neck. As long as the bearing surface is still in the neck your GTG.