• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Bushmaster 16" Upper: Bolt & round issues

nvahalik

Private
Minuteman
Jun 21, 2009
United States
Hey guys, I know I'm new here... a buddy of mine suggested I throw out this problem here: I'll try to be as verbose as possible. I'm new to most of this and trying to learn quickly. Here is my problem:

I just bought a brand new Bushmaster 16" upper. The lower is a Sabre Defense receiver with a Rocker River LPK and Tactical CAR Buttstock. Everything fits together great.

I can chamber a round manually, and it tends to load just fine. Most of the time, after firing, the round is extracted properly, but the next round would not be chambered. Each round had to be manually chambered by pulling back on the charging handle.

We ended up changing out the buffer tube and spring with another AR that they were testing. After changing it out, the same thing this guy was experiencing started happening. First round chambered manually, extracted properly, second round loaded properly extracted and the 3rd round not chambering properly, required the mag to be dropped and bolt pulled back.

Sometimes after firing a round, the cartridge would not extract. The bolt was stuck so hard, it could only be pulled back while stamping the butt of the gun on the table.

While we were at the range, we oiled this thing and cleaned it several times, but it never really seemed to make a difference. Here are some detailed pictures of the upper after today's firing:

I know it's sacrilege, but I haven't cleaned it yet!

IMG_4863.jpg