• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Buying a CompM5. Factory Mount or Aftermarket?

JS8588

Ballistic Hipster
Minuteman
Apr 7, 2020
NEPA
I'm putting together my go-to build & will have enough extra commission $ in my next paycheck to buy an Aimpoint CompM5 for it.

Planning to make the drive up to EuroOptic and get it from them unless you all have a better recommendation.

Now the question: do I just get the red dot & buy an aftermarket mount or is the factory QD mount good enough/worth the $? My intent was to go ahead & get it with the factory QD Mount & riser, but consulting the experts here seemed like a good idea.

I have no experience with factory Aimpoint mounts. They should be ok, but for the money you're already spending I'd go with a Geissele mount.

I know you're going with EuroOptic, but you can also find good bundles at other places. Who knows nowadays though, might all be out of stock.

Factory aim point mount is perfectly serviceable... to the point there are millions on service rifles all around the globe.

That was my suspicion. "Wisdom of crowds" & all that, though...

I have no experience with factory Aimpoint mounts. They should be ok, but for the money you're already spending I'd go with a Geissele mount.

I know you're going with EuroOptic, but you can also find good bundles at other places. Who knows nowadays though, might all be out of stock.

I'm planning to go with EuroOptic. That LaRue bundle for like $830 shipped is tempting, though.

Reactions: Zane1844
Factory aim point mount is perfectly serviceable... to the point there are millions on service rifles all around the globe.