• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Calling Genuine Operators...

Vipa

Private
Minuteman
Hey guys, just after a little info..

Bit of an argument raging on one of the UK forums I frequent, usual keyboard sniper stuff!!

I am intrigued though.. Would you guys feel confident hitting a pigeon sized target ALMOST 1st time every time from a cold bore with say a .308 (no Cheytac Interventions LOL) at 600-1,000 yards (known distance)

I'm particularly interested in responses from USMC snipers and real life tactical operators. I know that your training requires you to pass tests shooting targets out at these ranges but not, as far as I am aware, something the size of a wood pigeon..

Cheers
Paul

Re: Calling Genuine Operators...

I am a genuine operator. I have never practiced shooting wooden pigeons at that distance but when I was in Somalia we would plant cans of Dinty Moore stew that our "employer" provided us in open areas at that distance. When the "skinnies" would run to get it, we would shoot it. Unless they were armed with an AK or an RPG then we smoked them. Good times.

So yes, I think it is very plausible if you have a good sniper rifle and you "do your part".

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: shankster</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I am a genuine operator. I have never practiced shooting wooden pigeons at that distance but when I was in Somalia we would plant cans of Dinty Moore stew that our "employer" provided us in open areas at that distance. When the "skinnies" would run to get it, we would shoot it. Unless they were armed with an AK or an RPG then we smoked them. Good times.