• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Can I cool a hot supressor in water?

You can. I've seen people do it. That said I definitely wouldn't touch that idea with a 10 foot pole. It's a really really bad idea.

I'm not a metallurgy expert but quenching hot metal like that, especially something that needs to withstand high pressure is a really bad idea.

I've heard from surefire sales reps that you can dunk their cans in water. I watched him pour a bottle of water on a can until it was safe to touch after a couple mag dumps so I'm inclined to believe him. I don't have any cans though so I'm no expert

Last edited:
I have thought about it. Im no expert and my inclination is that its probably not good. I cant find anywhere it explicitly says don't do it.
The only time you should put a suppressor in water is when it's cold to prevent first round pop. At least that's what the Surefire manual for my RC2 says this. Other suppressors i camt soeak for.

Hot metal that's 300-600+ degrees from a heavy firing schedule... I'd rather let it air cool for a while.

I'd call the manufacturer of your suppressor to get guidance vs. Turning to strangers on the internet who aren't the manufacturer of your equipment.

Call manufacturer of your suppressor and ask them.

If hot enough you can cause stress cracks, break welds and cause warping depending on the materials.

Think about it, metal expands when hot, dunking will rapidly contract tube while baffles are still expanded. Also quenching can harden and make brittle metals. Most heat treatment to avoid brittleness is to slowly and evenly cool it.