• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Can I cut my Safariland holster to fit a red dot without messing it up? Yes you can.

theLBC

Shiftless
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Jun 21, 2019
    i have been shooting handguns for over 30 years, and like many, i prefer safariland holsters - primarily because i like the retention systems offered.
    also like many, i have been frustrated at times when they don't make a model for my specific handgun configuration.

in particular, holsters with active retention that work with red dot equipped pistols can be hard to find, depending on what you are running.

personally, i prefer iron sights after decades of presenting them to my eyes, but having gotten older, i broke down and got RX slides for my sig sauer p226 and p229 but was having problems finding holsters for them (other than shorties with passive retention).

one obvious reason for this is that the ALS retention system runs along the top of the holster.
    the SLS (hood) retention seemed like an option, although i do prefer ALS, so i decided to see what kind of results i could get if i cut one up to fit the romeo.

long story short (too late?) it is possible to cut one of these (with the felt lining) without fucking it up.
    the felt is well attached and didn't get jacked up or peel away from the inside of the holster.

i used a dremel and the thinnest cutting disk i had. note that the plastic will melt if you're too slow.
    i can clean it up when i have more time, but i think you get the idea that you can do a decent job.
    i was lazy and didn't even take it apart first, which would have made it even easier, but i have a pen tool for the dremel so it wasn't bad even so.

safcutCapture.JPG

EB6C5F31-1FBB-4F57-A053-70BD6D259DF3.jpeg